RMA Foundation

The Riverside Military Academy Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, was incorporated in 2013 under the laws of the State of Georgia and approved by the Internal Revenue Service in 2014. The Foundation was established for the exclusive purpose of supporting the educational purposes, furtherance, and longevity of Riverside Military Academy.

Founding Members

Gold Level 
Anonymous (2)
Mrs. Jerry B. Blackstock
Kristin and C. Brian Daniel
Robin and Britt Daniel
Marcia and Bernard Freeman, ‘58
Barbara and Rusty Griffin, ‘62
Roslyn and Pat Higdon, Jr., ‘57
Ann L. and John F. Phelps, ‘56
Jean and Stanley Preczewski
Nancy and Andrew Talkington, ‘71

Silver Level
Ruben Barahona, ‘89
J. Jette Campbell, ‘65
Ralph & Mary Cleveland Foundation
Ellen and Mark DeFoor
Jane and Drew Horner, ‘78
Linda K. Hurdle
Ernest T. Lopez III, ‘84
Susanne and Frank Maurno, ‘60
Rachel and Kenneth McKelvey
McKernan Family
Abraham Mitchell Charitable Foundation
Domingo Moreira, ‘63
Meg and J. Allen Nivens
Norton Family Foundation
Walter E. Smith, Jr., ‘58
Felipe A. Valls, ‘50
Jim Walters Management Company
Amanda and Bob Willis

Dennis Agnelly, ‘66
Sherry and Trey Bane
William B. Carr, Jr.
Denley Caughman, ‘66
Jimmy Echols
Diane and Doug Magnus
William J. McConnell, Sr., ‘58
Carmelia and John Sipple, ‘69
Beth and Sam Smith
Seth Wagner, ‘56
James R. Van Arsdale, ‘79
Mary Hart and Philip Wilheit, Sr.

A cornerstone of the Foundation’s funding is the Sandy Beaver Entrepreneurial Leadership Award (SBELA) Program that honors local leaders for their achievements that reflect the intelligence, entrepreneurial spirit, and leadership ability of Sandy Beaver, Riverside’s president from 1913-1969.

Endowed Support

List of 2 items.

  • Sandy Beaver Entrepreneurial Leadership Award

    The Sandy Beaver Entrepreneurial Leadership Award dinner is an annual event to honor area entrepreneurs whose business acumen and leadership are reminiscent of that of Sandy Beaver, RMA president from 1913 to 1969. Revenue and donations from the dinner will help grow the Riverside Military Academy Foundation and generate tuition assistance for families with demonstrated need.

    The inaugural dinner was held in August 2014, and the event is annually attended by hundreds including community leaders, alumni, RMA Trustees, and friends of the Academy. Interest in this fundraising dinner continues to grow.
  • Endowed Scholarships

    Annual gifts provide yearly support for program enhancements and projects at the Academy, but larger gifts made over a three to five year period may fund endowed scholarships, capital projects, or provide needed assistance for already existing programs at the Academy.
    Endowed Scholarships: $25,000 and up
    Scholarships, both merit and need-based, are an ongoing opportunity for support at Riverside. An endowed scholarship may be set up by an individual donor or a group of donors starting with a minimum gift of $25,000. The endowed fund is housed in The Riverside Military Academy Foundation and co-mingled with other endowed funds to maximize investment earnings. Each fund is tracked individually and the annual earnings provide scholarship aid or aid to existing programs. Several endowed scholarships exist at Riverside and donors may choose to contribute to one of these or establish their own endowment.

Governance Documents


List of 1 members.

  • Photo of Ellen DeFoor

    Ellen DeFoor 

    VP of Advancement

Past Honorees

Frank K. Norton Sr.
Joe S. Hatfield, 1924-2008

James A Walters
Wilbur F. Ramsey, 1919-2009

Philip A. Wilheit Sr.
Ralph W. Cleveland, 1907-1999

Thomas N. Bagwell
Loyd F. Strickland, 1925-2013

Jack E. Frost
W. Woodrow Stewart, 1938-2012

Jared "Drew" Echols
Raymond Headley Burch Jr., 1929-2018

Carol H. Burrell

Governor Nathan Deal and
First Lady Sandra Deal

Foundation Board of Directors

Walter E. Smith Jr., '58
West Palm Beach, FL

John W. Jacobs III
Gainesville, GA

Charlie J. Lail, Jr.
Buford, GA

C. Brian Daniel
Gainesville, GA

Bernard M. Freeman, '58
Vero Beach, FL

Anthony M. Herdener
Gainesville, GA

Daniel J. Kaufman
Duluth, GA

James R. Van Arsdale, '79
Houston, TX

Stanley C. "Staś" Preczewski
COL(R), USA, Ph.D.

Gainesville, GA

Ellen G. DeFoor, Ex Officio

Gainesville, GA